SilverBirch Productions
680 Queens Quay West, Suite 600
Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5V 2Y9
(416) 260-6688.


Home » Roots/Traditional » Roots/Traditional, General

Brokenjoe - Long Walk To Nowhere
In Stock: 2
Brokenjoe - Long Walk To Nowhere

Brokenjoe - Long Walk To NoWhere

* Joe Toole — banjo
* Alec Fraser —brushbass
* Jerome Godboo — harmonica

A note from Joe:

We're a roots band. I guess what people are calling "Americana" fits, 'cept we're Canadian. "Alt-country" also fits, as does "folk" and "acoustic blues". Alec likes to call what we do "the Birth of the Blues". Sounds about right to me, but unfortunately, some folks might think that they're in for a night of Charlie Patton and Blind Lemon Jefferson.

I guess what I'm trying to say is that the stuff we like to write and play harkens back to a time when folks didn't make as much of a distinction between styles as they do today.

Most folks aren't aware that Maybelle Carter was a fairly competent bottleneck player, so if I told you we were influenced by the Carter Family, would you make the connection? Probably not.

So... Here's some folks that have influenced us in a very major way: Hank Williams, Charlie Poole, Junior Wells, Dwight Diller, George Jones, Dock Boggs, Doc Watson, Doc Holliday, the Stanley Brothers, the Louvin Brothers, the Marx Brothers, Little Walter, Big Walter, Merle Haggard, John Lee Hooker, Hound Dog Taylor, Jimmy Rodgers, Stompin' Tom Connors...

Track Listing:
1. Country Blues
2. Omie Wise
3. Mr. Blues (You Never Were My Friend)
4. Jerry Stone
5. Let's Pretend I Did
6. I Heard That Lonesome Whistle Blow
7. Desperation Blues
8. Walking Boss
9. Down In The Willow Garden
10. I Don't Blame her
11. Goodmorning Mr. Railroad Man
12. Dogman
13. Have You Seen My Guardian Angel?
14. See That My Grave's Kept Clean
15. Singing Steel Rails
16. The Hole
17. Porkchops

For more information visit: Biggiola Records

Price: CDN$ 15.00
11.00 USD
Add to cart

« Previous | Next »

  home | products | about us | affiliates | privacy | shipping | return | search | checkout | e-mail

Shopping cart software Copyright 2003



2 Disc Set for only $3.99.

Speak Easy

Visit the